Text & original images © Sarah Perry 2016

  • Twitter Social Icon

Sarah Perry

Site Title

Sarah Perry

Sarah Perry is the author of The Essex Serpent and After Me Comes the Flood. A number one bestseller and Waterstones Book of the Year 2016, The Essex Serpent was nominated for a further eight literary awards, including the Costa Novel Award 2017, and the Bailey's Women's Prize for Fiction 2017. After Me Comes the Flood was longlisted for the Guardian First Book Award 2014 and the Folio Prize 2014, and won the East Anglian Book of the Year Award 2014. Sarah has been the UNESCO City of Literature Writer-In-Residence in Prague and a Gladstone's Library Writer-in-Residence. Her work is being translated into twenty one languages, and her essays and fiction have been broadcast on BBC Radio 4 and RTE 1. She reviews fiction for the Guardian and the Financial Times. 

Photo Credit: Jamie Drew 2018

The Essex Serpent

Waterstones Book of the Year 2016

Sunday Times number one bestseller

Shortlisted for Costa Book Award

iTunes Book of the Year 2016

Longlisted for the Dylan Thomas prize 2017

Longlisted for the Walter Scott Prize 2017

Longlisted for the Wellcome Book Prize 2017

Longlisted for the Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction 2017

Shortlisted for the Independent Bookshop Week Book Award 2017

British Book Awards Book of the Year 2017 (Fiction and Overall)

After Me Comes the Flood

Winner East Anglian Book of the Year 2014

Shortlisted for Guardian First Novel Award 2014

Nominated for the Folio Prize 2014

Winner of the 2014 Shiva Naipaul Prize - 'A Little Unexpected'


Essex Book Festival, 2017

UNESCO City of Literature Writer-in-Residence Prague, 2016

Gladstones Library Writer-in-Residence, 2014